Puzzle Path

I remember a puzzle told by my father’s elder brother during my childhood. I still remember it as it had made deep impact on me. A puzzle which creates interest as well as gives a hint on how to take directions in real life.

A man wants direction to a village. He approaches a point from where two roads diverge. There were two men standing in that place. One was to the core liar from whom you can expect nothing but lies. Another is a true true guy who speaks nothing but truth. The traveler was informed earlier about the qualities of these two men. But he does not know who is a liar and who is a square shooter. He has to ask only one question to only one of them.

What question he will ask?

Find it and tell me. I’ll give it after every one has given the answer.

